‘The Square’ wins Palme D’Or at Cannes 2017

Director Ruben Ostlund’s “The Square”, an art world satire that stars Claes Bang, Elisabeth Moss and Dominic West, won this year’s Palme d’Or at Cannes 2017.

After not getting nomination in Oscar 2015, the Swedish director good-naturedly released a video that included what he called a “worst man cry”.

However, yesterday night (May 28th), director Ostlund asked photographers in the pit below the stage at the Lumiere Theatre to turn their cameras on the audience and led all attendees in a primal scream “of happiness”.

Rejoiced with the award, he said, “I can direct you now, after all I won the Palme d’Or.”

Diane Kruger won the Best Actress award for her first German-language turn in Fatih Akin’s “In the Fade”, a timely story of the aftermath of a terrorist bombing.

Kruger, who works largely in French and American cinema, gave a shout-out to those affected by terrorism, particularly the folks left behind.

She said, “To those who have to go on living” after losing someone, please know you are not forgotten.”

The Best Actor award was given to Joaquin Phoenix for “You Were Never Really Here”.

A special 70th anniversary award was given to actress Nicole Kidman. She sent a video message from Nashville saying she was “devastated” for not being present at the event.

“Last week was like a dream. This is a lovely way to come back to the dream,” Kidman said.

Best Director award was grabbed by Coppola, who was also absent from the gala event, sent a message honoring, among others, her mother and father, director Francis Ford Coppola who made “The Godfather” trilogy.

This is the second time in the Cannes’ history that a woman has won this prize, following Yuliya Solntseva for “The Story of the Flaming Years” back in 1961.


Recent Comments