Captain Amrinder Singh takes oath as 26th CM of Punjab

After ten years of exile, Congress is back again in Punjab with Captain Amrinder Singh as a new Chief Minister of the state. This is the second time that Captain Amrinder has become the CM of Punjab, earlier he served in this capacity in 2002-2007.

Today, on 16th March, Captain Amrinder Singh has taken an oath as the 26th Chief Minister of Punjab in a ceremony administered by Punjab Governor VP Singh Bandore at the Raj Bhavan.

There was a special presence of Indian National Congress Party vice president Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister of India Dr Manmohan Singh.

Other senior congress leaders like Sachin Pilot, Raj Babbar, Ambika Soni, Pawan Bandal and Ajay Maken, were also presented in the oath ceremony.

Along with the Captain, Braham Mohindra, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Manpreet Singh Badal, Sadhu Singh Dharmsot, Tript Tajinder Singh Bajwa, Rana Gurjit Singh and Charanjit Singh Channi took oath as Cabinet ministers. Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana will be Ministers of State.

The Punjab Congress had already cleared all of its newly elected MLAs to keep their personal invitations to the bare minimum in order to have a simple ceremony.

“There will be nothing ostentatious about the oath-taking programme at the Raj Bhavan on Thursday morning, when Punjab Governor V P Singh Badnore will administer the oath of office to Amarinder Singh as the new chief minister of the state,” Punjab Congress had said on Tuesday.

Riding on strong anti-incumbency, Congress won77 seats in the 117 assembly seats of the Vidhan Sabha.On the other hand, ruling SAD-BJP won 18 while AAP won 20 seats.



Recent Comments